National Day of Mourning Netherlands July 23



Dutch Prime Minister Rutte has declared Wednesday, July 23, 2014, a National Day of Mourning as the first victims of Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 arrive in Eindhoven.  The remains of over 260 victims are being taken to the Netherlands for identification. This includes non-Dutch passengers who were on the flight.

Flags will fly at half staff several times in the coming days.

Show your solidarity with all the nations whose nationals were killed.  Dutch embassies (check your city) will have a condolence registry to sign, and you are welcome to stop in and sign the book. In Washington, DC, the hours are 10 am to noon, and 2 to 4 pm.

View the France 24 video story

Dutch Flag